European Particle Therapy Network (EPTN)

The European Particle Therapy Network (EPTN) became a task force of ESTRO in 2017. It was established in 2015 in response to the anticipated increase in the number of particle therapy centres in Europe. In addition, the need to cooperate among centres and integrate particles (i.e. protons and carbons) in the framework of clinical research networks was identified as being of paramount importance. ESTRO, at the time of initiation of the network, was asked to collaborate with EPTN and agreed to facilitate the group.

Particle therapy (PT) is only one part of radiation oncology, and needs to be well aligned with other radiation techniques as well as with general developments in cancer research and patient care. PT offers both new opportunities for providing excellence in cancer care, and for high-quality research within the framework of European  networks.

7th European Particle Therapy Network (EPTN) WORKSHOP

22 October 2021 from 09:00-12:00 CEST​ - Online

To view the workshop agenda please click here

Registration for the meeting is obligatory.

To register for the meeting on a complimentary basis, please email  

Registration Deadline 8 October 2021

For queries regarding the workshop please contact Eralda Azizaj (  

The EPTN has three organisers and is composed of 7 working parties (WP) with experts for different topics to further elaborate the particle European discussions. It meets once a year.

EPTN organisers:

  • Cai Grau (Aarhus, DK) 

  • Damien Weber (Villigen, CH) 

  • Dietmar Georg (Vienna, AT)






Hans Langendijk (Groningen, NL)-Leader

Roberto Orecchia (Milano, IT)

Karin Hausterman (Leuven, BE)

Daniel Zips (Tuebingen, DE)

Jacques Balosso (Grenoble, FR)

Esther Troost (Dresden, DE)


Dose assessment, quality assurance, dummy runs, technology inventory

Oliver Jäckel (Heidelberg, DE)

Sairos Safai (Villigen, CH)

Stefano Lorentini (Trento, IT)



EPTN brain tumour workshop

Morten Høyer (Aarhus, DK)

Marco Schwarz (Trento, IT)


Image Guidance in particle therapy

 Aswin Hoffmann (Dresden, DE)

Alessandra Bolsi (Villigen, CH)


TPS in particle therapy

WP5 Collective PTPS specifications

Håkan Nyström (Uppsala, SE)

Tony Lomax (Villigen, CH)


Radiobiology, RBE

Manjit Dosanjh (Geneva, CH)

Bleddyn Jones (Oxford, UK)

Jörg Pawelke (Dresden, DE)

Martin Pruschy (Zurich, CH)

Brita S. Sørensen (Aarhus, DK


Health Economy

Yolande Lievens (Ghent, BE)

Klaus Nagels (Bayreuth, DE)