Vienna, Austria

ESTRO 2023

Abstract submission is open - Submit by 26 October!

It is my great pleasure to invite you to ESTRO 2023 which will take place from 12 to 16 May in Vienna, Austria.

The ambition of ESTRO to further reinforce radiation oncology as a core partner in multidisciplinary cancer care, and to guarantee accessible and high-value radiation therapy for all cancer patients who need it, is expressed in the society’s vision statement for 2030: ‘Radiation Oncology. Optimal Health for All, Together.’. After a challenging couple of years, it is more important than ever before to gather as a community to connect, share and learn.

The congress theme, From innovation to action, builds on previous topics and focusses on how we translate and implement research into practice.  It will be reflected throughout the programme via state-of-the-art sessions. Along with symposia, debates and teaching lectures, the scientific programme will feature panel discussions and pitch sessions with the aim of increasing interaction between faculty and audience. Joint sessions with partner associations aim to connect delegates with new communities and increase the reach of the ESTRO population. Fostering the development of young radiation oncology professionals remains a top priority for ESTRO and therefore the Young Scientists track will continue to provide educational activities focussed on those in the earlier stages of their careers.

This year we will continue to optimise the contributions from submitted abstracts. The best abstract submitted to each track will be celebrated in the Best Proffered Papers plenary session. Other sessions will showcase the Latest Clinical Trials and Late-breaking Papers. The successful mini-oral sessions will continue, enhancing the visibility of your submitted research, while poster discussion sessions offer you a platform to showcase your work. We will continue to emphasise the interdisciplinarity of the ESTRO scientific programme by calling for abstracts which are of interest to a broad range of disciplines.

Networking with corporate partners is always invaluable. ESTRO 2023 will host Europe’s largest industry exhibition in radiation oncology. It will offer you a unique opportunity to interact with industry leaders and to find out about the latest developments in technology, techniques and oncology products.

We look forward to welcoming you in Vienna.

With warm regards,

Anna Kirby                                                
ESTRO President
ESTRO 2023 Chair  

Anna Kirby (UK) – Chair of the Congress & Chair, Interdisciplinary track

  • Vratislav Strnad (DE) - Chair, SAG Brachytherapy
  • Pierre Blanchard (FR) - Chair, SAG Clinical Radiotherapy
  • Marianne Aznar (UK) - Chair, SAG Radiation Physics
  • Ludwig van den Berghe (BE) - Chair, SAG Radiation Therapy
  • Ester Hammond (UK) - Chair, SAG Radiobiology
  • Amanda Webster (UK) & Daan Nevens (BE) - Chairs, Young track

Ben Slotman (NL), Aileen Duffton (UK), Bradley Pieters (NL), Daniela Thorwarth (DE), Eduard Gershkevitsh (EE), Esther Troost (DE), Heidi Lyng (NO), Jens Overgaard (DK), Jolien Heukelom (NL), Matthias Guckenberger (DE), Michael Baumann (DE), Michelle Leech (IE), Steven Petit (NL)


Vratislav Strnad (DE) - Chair

Bradley Pieters (NL), Carl Salembier (BE), Christian Kirisits (AT), Cyrus Chargary (FR), Frank-André Siebert (DE), Ina Jürgenliemk-Schulz (NL), Jean-Michel Hannoun-Levi (FR), Luca Tagliaferri (IT), Marisol De Brandere (BE), Nicole Nesvacil (AT), Peter Hoskin (UK)


Pierre Blanchard (FR) - Chair

Agata Rembielak (UK), Alfonso Gomez Iturriaga (ES), Andrea Filippi (IT), Birgitte Vrou Offersen (DK), Claire Paterson (UK), Elizabeth Moyal (FR), Emmanouil Fokas (DE), Fiona McDonald (UK), Florence Huguet (FR), Joanna Kazmierska (PO), Karin Haustermans (BE), Maria Antonietta Gambacorta (IT), Matthias Guckenberger (CH), Orit Kaidar-Person (IL), Remi Nout (NL), Thomas Zilli (CH)


Marianne Aznar (UK) - Chair

Ben Heijmen (NL), Catharine Clark (UK), Charlotte Robert (FR), Christian Richter (DE), Coen Hurkmans (NL), Daniela Thorwarth (DE), Dietmar Georg (AT), Edmond Sterpin (BE), Eduard Gershkevitsh (EE), Faisal Mahmood (DK), Georgina Fröhlich (HU), Iuliana Toma-Dasu (SE), Kathrine Røe Redalen (NO), Livia Marrazzo (IT), Núria Jornet (ES), Ye Zhang (CH)


Ludwig Van den Berghe (BE) - Chair

Amanda Webster (UK), Dylan Callens (BE), Edward Farrugia Wismayer (MT), Ilija Čurić (SB), Maddalena Rossi (NL), Maeve Kearney (IE), Marton Vekas (HU), Monica Buijs (NL), Philipp Scherer‎ (AT), Sophie Boisvouvier (FR), Sophie Perryck (CH)


Ester Hammond (UK) - Chair

Balázs Madas (HU), Brita Singers Sørensen (DK), Kasper Rouschop (NL), Kerstin Borgmann (DE), Laure Marignol (IE), Martin Pruschy (CH), Navita Somaiah (UK), Nicolas Foray (FR), Paul Span (NL), Randi Syljuåsen (NO), Ross Carruthers (UK)


Amanda Webster (UK) & Daan Nevens (BE) - Chairs

Angela Botticella (FR), Anne Gasnier (FR), Danique Barten (NL), Jolien Heukelom (NL), Noemie Defourny (UK), Pierre Montay-Gruel (BE), Sarah Kelly (BE), Sophie Perryck (CH), Steven Petit (NL), Vania Batista (DE)

Registrations will open in October.

  • Abstract submission deadline: 26 October 2022
  • Late-breaking abstract submission: 4 to 18 January 2023
  • Early registration deadline: 22 February 2023
  • Late registration deadline: 12 April 2023
  • Desk registration deadline: As of 13 April 2023

Abstract submission is open! Submit your abstract by 26 October 2022, 23:59 CET.

The peer review and selection process take place in November and December. Selection results will be communicated early January 2023.

Late-Breaking Abstracts

Late-breaking abstract submission opens on 4 January 2023. The deadline for submission is 18 January 2023, 23:59 CET.

Late-breaking abstracts must present timely findings which were not available at the time of the deadline (26 October 2022). The late-breaking abstract deadline is not intended to be a second deadline for abstract submissions. Abstracts deemed to not be truly late-breaking are rejected.

Questions regarding the awards, and applications for the open awards, should be addressed to:

Jessica Pledge 
Scientific Programme Manager 
Tel: +32 477 250 151 

Post: ESTRO Office
Attn: Jessica Pledge 
Scientific Programme Manager 
Avenue Marnix 17
1000 Brussels


Messe Wien Exhibition & Congress Center
Messepl. 1, 1021 Wien