The Board has the following powers:

  • Co-ordinating the activities of the Association.
  • Recommending changes in the composition of the Board of Directors.
  • Approving amendments of the Internal Rules of Procedure.
  • Effecting the preparation of an audited financial statement reflecting the Association’s operations, said statement to be made available to the Members of the Board of Directors within ninety (90) days after the close of each budget year.
  • Establishing general policies and operating procedures for the Association.
  • Establishing the strategy plan of the Association and monitoring its implementation.
  • Preparing the Association’s financial reports, budgets, and investments.
  • Selecting an independent accountant, auditor, banking establishments, and investment counsellors for the Association.
  • Creating councils, committees, working groups and ad hoc task forces where appropriate and necessary.
  • Appointing and dismissing the Managers of the Association, unless otherwise provided for by these Articles of Association.
  • Designating the time and place of General Assemblies of the Association.
  • Determining the agenda of General Assemblies.
  • Any other power granted by the present Articles of Association.
  • The Board of Directors will take the final decision on the names provided by the Nominating Council.
  • The Board of Directors will be responsible for dealing with any residual matters not granted to any other organ by these Articles of Association or the Law
  • Organising electronic voting procedures for General Assembly decisions, if no physical meeting is called for.

Chaired by the President, The Board is composed by a maximum of 15 Directors (including the Past-President, the President, the President-Elect, the Treasurer and the Membership Officer), appointed by the General Assembly. 3 Non-Voting Directors with a counselling role can be appointed, with no voting rights – usually the Editor-in-Chief of the Radiotherapy and Oncology Journal, and the Director of the ESTRO School.

Its composition should reflect the diversity of the Society: at least one representative of each discipline should belong to the Board of Directors.

President: Ben SlotmanAmsterdam, The Netherlands

President-Elect: Anna KirbyLondon, United Kingdom

Past-President: Umberto Ricardi, Turin, Italy

Treasurer: Dirk Verellen, Antwerp, Belgium

Elizabeth Forde, Dublin, Ireland

Matthias Guckenberger, Zurich, Swizerland

Ben Heijmen, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Nuria Jornet, Barcelona, Spain

Kari Tanderup, Aarhus, Denmark

Marc Vooijs, Maastricht, The Netherlands

Esther Troost, Dresden, Germany

Editor-in-Chief: Michael Baumann, Heidelberg, Germany

Education Council Director: Jesper Eriksen, Aarhus, Denmark