GEC-ESTRO Brachytherapy Committee

GEC-ESTRO was formed in 1990 from the amalgamation of the The Groupe Européen de Curiethérapie (GEC) and the European SocieTy for Radiotherapy & Oncology (ESTRO). Prior to this, GEC had been an independent group of experts, formed in the mid 1960s, who were interested in all aspects of brachytherapy and responsible for organising annual meetings.

This merge has enabled brachytherapy to strengthen its impact in Europe and improved the administrative aspects of education, collaboration and research in brachytherapy. ESTRO has guaranteed the original identity of the GEC group.

GEC-ESTRO is a standing committee of ESTRO, which is governed by an executive group. Members of the committee are elected. The Terms of Reference of the GEC-ESTRO Committee can be downloaded fro mthe downloads section. Since ESTRO 23 in 2004, the GEC-ESTRO annual meeting has been fully incorporated into the ESTRO annual congress.

Over the years, GEC-ESTRO has substantially increased its work, initiating new activities such as organ-related working groups, an executive committee, teaching courses and publications and it is now an integral part of ESTRO.

GEC-ESTRO also collaborates with other groups and supports three awards in brachytherapy.

The Standard operation procedure (SOP) of the committee is available here.



To view profiles click on pictures

Bradley  Pieters - Chair 

Academic Medical Center
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Ina Jürgenliemk-Schulz - Chair-Elect


Utrecht, The Netherlands 

Christian Kirisits - Past Chair

Medical University of Vienna/Vienna General Hospital (AKH)
Vienna, Austria

Marisol De Brabandere- Secretary

University Hospital Gasthuisberg
Leuven, Belgium

Arthur Sun Myint - Chair Gastro-Intestinal

Clatterbridge Cancer Centre
Bebington Merseyside, UK

Frank-André Siebert - Chair Braphyqs

University Hospital S-H Campus Kiel
Kiel, Germany

Vratislav Strnad - Chair Breast

University Hospital Erlangen
Erlangen, Germany

Kari Tanderup - Chair Gynaecology

Aarhus University Hospital/Aarhus University
Aarhus, Denmark

Luca Tagliaferri - Chair Head & Neck, Skin

Gemelli University Hospital - “Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore”
Rome, Italy 

Li Tee Tan - Chair Brachy-HERO

Addenbrooke's Hospital
Cambridge, The United Kingdom

Peter Hoskin - Chair UroGEC

Northwood Middlesex, The United Kingdom 

Csbar Polgar

National Institute of Oncology

Budapest, Hungary

Cyrus Chargari - Observer yESTRO Committee

Institut Gustave Roussy, Villejuif, France 





GEC-ESTRO Advisory Board

The GEC-ESTRO Advisory Board is headed by the Chair, Bradley Pieters.

Members of the Advisory Board (since 2016 elections)


D. Baltas (Offenbach)
J. Dimopoulos (Athens)
B. Ericksson (Madison, USA)
J. Perez Calatayud (Valencia)

I. Jürgenliemk-Schulz (Utrecht)
T. Major (Budapest)
U. Mahantshetty Umesh (Mumbai)
F. Verhaegen (Maastricht)

J. Skowronek (Poznań)

The committee is contactable through Evelyn Chimfwembe at the ESTRO office.